Pierre-Yves Déquirez

Portrait de Pierre-Yves Déquirez











Associate Professor
Georesources and energy Center
pierre-yves.dequirez@ifpen.fr

Pierre-Yves Déquirez joined the IFP School Georesources and energy Center in 2004. He was appointed Supervisor of the Petroleum Geosciences program, a position he held until 2016. Today, he coordinates some teaching units in the field of seismic interpretation and reservoir seismics. He also coordinates a teaching unit common to almost all of IFP School training programs for the acquisition of soft skills. He is a member of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) and the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG). He is a genealogy and history enthusiast with a keen interest on World War I.

Pierre-Yves began his career in 1983 in the marine seismic acquisition team at IFP Energies nouvelles’ experimental base in Le-Verdon-sur-Mer. He worked on improving software for quality control of real-time seismic data acquisition on board of the seismic prospecting vessel “Résolution”. He took part in numerous tests and acquisition surveys (Bay of Biscay, North Sea, Norwegian Sea, Barents Sea, Mediterranean Sea and Gulf of Guinea).

In 1987, he was assigned to Rueil-Malmaison, where he joined a team in charge of a new research project on an innovative method for seismic data inversion. This method was later patented. Within this team, he was involved in the development of the prototype, validation tests and finalizing the industrial software InterWell™. This work gave rise to numerous presentations and publications. In 2000, he was appointed industrial project leader in charge of the development, improvements and maintenance of IFP Energies nouvelles’ seismic data inversion software InterWell™ and EasyTrace™ , which are currently marketed by Beicip-Franlab.

Pierre-Yves is a geophysical engineer, graduate of the École et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre in Strasbourg. He also holds an IFP School master in Petroleum Geosciences, with a major in Geophysics.

Pierre-Yves Déquirez

Portrait de Pierre-Yves Déquirez











Professeur Associé
Centre Géoressources et énergie
pierre-yves.dequirez@ifpen.fr

Pierre-Yves Déquirez a rejoint le Centre Géoressources et énergie d'IFP School en 2004. Il devient alors responsable du programme Petroleum Geosciences, poste qu'il occupera jusqu'en 2016. Aujourd'hui, il coordonne plusieurs unités d’enseignement dans le domaine de l’interprétation sismique et de la sismique de réservoir. Il coordonne également une unité d’enseignement commune à la quasi-totalité des programmes de formation d’IFP School pour l’acquisition des "soft skills". Il est membre de l'European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) et de la Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG). Féru de généalogie et d'histoire, il s'intéresse particulièrement à la Première Guerre Mondiale.

Pierre-Yves débute sa carrière en 1983 à IFP Energies nouvelles dans l’équipe d’acquisition sismique marine de la base expérimentale du Verdon-sur-Mer. Il travaille sur l’amélioration des logiciels de contrôle qualité des données sismiques acquises en temps réel à bord du navire de prospection sismique "Résolution". Il participe alors à de nombreuses campagnes de tests et d’acquisitions (golfe de Gascogne, mer du Nord, mer de Norvège, mer de Barents, mer Méditerranée et golfe de Guinée).

En 1987, il est affecté à Rueil-Malmaison où il intègre le projet de recherche portant sur une méthode innovante d’inversion des données sismiques, méthode qui sera par la suite brevetée. Dans cette équipe, il participe à l'élaboration du prototype, aux tests de validation, puis à la mise au point du nouveau logiciel industriel InterWell™. Ces travaux feront l'objet de nombreuses présentations et publications. En 2000, il est nommé chef de projet industriel, en charge du développement, des évolutions et de la maintenance des logiciels IFP Energies nouvelles InterWell™ et EasyTrace™ actuellement commercialisés par Beicip-Franlab.

Pierre-Yves est ingénieur géophysicien, diplômé de l’École et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre de Strasbourg. Il possède également un diplôme d’ingénieur en Géosciences Pétrolières option Géophysique d'IFP School.