Victor Court

Portrait de Victor Court










Lecturer-Researcher
Energy Economics and Management Center
victor.court@ifpen.fr

IFPEN profile


Victor Court joined IFP School’s Energy Economics and Management Center in March 2020. He teaches and helps organize the Center’s three training programs: the specialized Engineering programs Energy and Markets (ENM) and Petroleum Economics and Management (PEM) as well as the research-oriented Master’s program in Environmental, Energy and Powertrains Economics - Sustainable Development, Environment and Energy Economics (EEET-EDDEE). He has a keen interest on the interactions between technical change, energy transition and economic development in the long run.

After his engineering studies in environmental sciences (AgroParisTech) and his master’s degree in Energy Economics (IFP School), Victor completed a PhD on the role of energy in the economic growth process. This analysis focused in particular on the concept of Energy-Return-On-Investment (EROI), which is a measure of energy accessibility.

During the three years following his PhD, Victor conducted research in various institutions. First as part of the Energy and Prosperity Chair at the Environment and Society Training Center of the ENS Ulm, to develop a dynamic representation of the world population that can be used by any macroeconomic model (in particular integrated assessment models used to study the energy and ecological transition). Then in England in the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex in Brighton, where his work focused on the energy impact of digital technologies.

In addition to his publications in various academic journals and his lectures, Victor is currently writing books for the general public. The first of these will be an essay on the role of energy in the history of human societies.

Victor Court

Portrait de Victor Court










Enseignant-chercheur
Centre d’Économie et de Management de l’Énergie
victor.court@ifpen.fr
Profil IFPEN

Victor Court a rejoint le Centre d’Économie et de Management de l’Énergie d’IFP School en mars 2020. Il participe à l’enseignement et à l’organisation des trois programmes du Centre : les programmes d’ingénieur spécialisé Énergie et marchés (ENM) et Energy Technology Economics and Management (ex-PEM) ainsi que le Master orienté recherche Économie de l’environnement, de l’énergie et des transports (EEET). Ses principaux centres d’intérêt concernent les interactions entre changement technique, transition énergétique et développement économique dans le temps long.

Après ses études d’ingénieur en sciences de l’environnement (AgroParisTech) et son master en économie de l’énergie (IFP School), Victor a réalisé un doctorat dont la thèse portait sur le rôle de l’énergie dans le processus de croissance économique. Cette analyse se focalisait notamment sur le concept de retour énergétique sur énergie investie (EROI en anglais pour "Energy-Return-On-Investment "), qui est une mesure de l’accessibilité de l’énergie.

Durant les trois années qui suivirent ce doctorat, Victor a mené des recherches dans différentes institutions. D’abord dans le cadre de la Chaire Énergie et Prospérité au sein du Centre de formation sur l’environnement et la Société de l’ENS Ulm pour développer une représentation dynamique de la population mondiale pouvant être utilisée par n’importe quel modèle macroéconomique (en particulier les modèles d’analyses intégrées utilisés pour l’étude de la transition énergétique et écologique). Ensuite en Angleterre dans la Science Policy Research Unit de l’Université du Sussex à Brighton, où son travail s’est concentré sur l’impact énergétique des technologies numériques.

En plus de ses publications dans différents journaux académiques et de ses cours, Victor s’attèle désormais à la rédaction de livres pour le grand public. Le premier d’entre eux sera un essai sur le rôle de l’énergie dans l’histoire des sociétés humaines.