Chemical sciences

Contribution of chemical imaging by X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy for localized monitoring of the impregnation and activation of heterogeneous catalysts

In order to reduce the energy consumption of catalytic processes, one of the levers is to optimize catalysts. This optimization is accompanied by an ever-increasing need to characterize these solids. This is particularly the case for hydrotreating catalysts that produce fuels and chemical intermediates with low environmental impact.

Molecular simulations applied to lithium batteries

Background: In the light of sustainable mobility, batteries play an essential role in the electrification and hybridization of transport vehicles. Batteries based on lithium ions currently offers one of the best performances with respect to other rechargeable batteries. However, in lithium ions batteries solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) layers are formed that can severely impact the performance of these batteries if they use graphite-based electrodes.

Design of impact characterization factors adapted to the Life Cycle Assessment method for the evaluation of fuel emissions at altitude.

Renewable energies (RE) are the most suitable vectors to meet the imperatives of environmental protection and reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. The air transport sector is positioning itself on these new energies as part of its objective to stabilize CO2 emissions from 2020 onwards and then to reduce its CO2 emissions by 50% by 2050. However, the air transport sector is growing and it’s becoming a key issue to find sustainable solutions regarding the choice of fuels. Most of the air transport emissions occur at altitude during the aircraft's cruise phase.

Unravelling CO2 reduction mechanisms on the photocatalyst surface from operando approach

The use of solar energy to convert CO2 into hydrocarbons could mitigate two main problems : global warming and future energy demand. The photocatalytic route is pertinent, but the process yield remains low even for the most efficient developed materials and many questions stay opened regarding the intrinsic properties of the photocatalyst to be optimized and about the reactional mechanisms.

Zeolite based catalysts for alkyl-aromatics isomerization

The increase in the world population coupled with technological development will generate a growing demand for petrochemicals in the coming decades. This will contribute to the shift of the use of hydrocarbon resources to petrochemicals at the expense of fuels. Para-xylene is a molecule particularly sought after because it is involved in particular for the production of polyester fibers for clothing or resins. This molecule can be produced by isomerization reactions of other aromatic molecules of lower value. Heterogeneous catalysts are used to catalyze these reactions.

Machine learning to optimize ReaxFF parameters

Computer simulation tools are widely used at IFP (Energies nouvelles (IFPen) for applications in various fields of energy, transport and the environment. The use of multi-scale modeling has become a key factor for successful studies. In chemistry, molecular modeling contributes to the understanding of phenomena occurring from electronic to mesoscopic scales. The explicit consideration of chemical reactions in molecular simulations requires the use of a so-called "reactive" force field such as ReaxFF.

Exploring the effects of porosity and acidity of large pore zeolites on the transformation of sugars to platform chemicals

Mastering the conversion of biomass to useful chemicals (bioplastics, etc.) is one of the big challenges of our society. Two third of the annually produced biomass is carbohydrate biomass, i.e. sugar polymers. The depolymerisation of carbohydrates leads to glucose, fructose, xylose, etc. These molecules are highly functionalized and can be converted to a range of interesting products, for example, 5-hydroxymethylfurfural, which is the base of a new biopolymer that can substitute PET, levulinic acid, lactic acid, etc. 

Development of mild reduction routes to low-valent metal complexes for catalytic applications

The design of new active and selective catalysts is a crucial challenge in the current context of sustainable development and atom efficiency. In this sense, homogeneous catalysis based on the design of perfectly defined metallic precursors, is capable of reaching the needs for this purpose. The activation of these metal precursors under reaction conditions is a key step in the generation of highly selective single site catalysts.

Understanding and modelling the internal short circuit in Li-ion batteries

The electrochemical storage of electrical energy has become a global issue and a major challenge. Li-ion batteries are considered as the preferred solution to store energy on board of new generation electric and hybrid vehicles or manage renewable energy in stationary applications. Safe batteries systems still represent today the weakest link in the development of many energy or power demanding applications.

Molecular simulation of the genesis of supported Pt and PtSn catalytic active phases

Supported metallic catalysts are of paramount important in heterogeneous catalysis. In particular, PtSn/γ-Al2O3 systems, where the metals are in the form of sub-nanometric particles, are industrially used for the transformation of hydrocarbons and oxygenated molecules. They are classically obtained after a sequence of impregnation of the support by contacting with an aqueous solution of metallic complexes, followed by drying, calcination and reduction to form metallic clusters. Such synthesis procedure was optimized empirically.

Sciences chimiques

Simulations Moléculaires Appliquées aux Batteries de Lithium

Dans le cadre des besoins de stockage d’énergie liés au développement des véhicules électrifiés de nombreuses études se sont intéressées aux batteries Li-ion, qui présentent des performances adaptées en termes de capacité et puissance par rapport à d’autres technologies de stockage réversible de l’énergie. Les principaux défis à relever pour les batteries Li-ion sont le coût, la sécurité et la durée de vie. Ce dernier défi est impacté par un phénomène de vieillissement qui provoque une perte de performance en termes d’énergie et de puissance.

Conception de facteurs de caractérisation d'impacts adaptés à la méthode d'Analyse du Cycle de Vie pour l'évaluation des rejets de carburants en altitude.

Les énergies renouvelables (EnR) constituent les vecteurs les plus adaptés pour répondre aux impératifs de protection de l’environnement et de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Le secteur du transport aérien se positionne sur ces nouvelles énergies dans le cadre de son objectif de stabilisation des émissions de CO2 à partir de 2020 puis de la volonté de réduire de 50 % ses émissions de CO2 d’ici à 2050. Or, le secteur du transport aérien est en croissance et il devient donc impératif de trouver des solutions durables quant au choix des carburants utilisés.

Description des mécanismes de réduction du CO2 à la surface de photocatalyseur par approche operando

L’utilisation à bon escient de l’énergie solaire pour convertir le CO2 en hydrocarbures peut simultanément contrebalancer deux problèmes actuels majeurs: le réchauffement climatique (ppCO2) et la future demande énergétique. La voie photocatalytique est pertinente, cependant le rendement du procédé demeure actuellement faible même pour les meilleurs matériaux développés et de nombreuses questions restent encore ouvertes au sujet des propriétés intrinsèques du photocatalyseur à optimiser et des mécanismes réactionnels associés. 

Etude de catalyseurs zéolithiques pour l'isomérisation d'alkyl-aromatiques

L’accroissement de la population mondiale couplée au développement technologique va générer une demande croissante en produits pétrochimiques dans les décennies à venir et contribuer au déplacement de l’utilisation ressources hydrocarbonées vers les produits pétrochimiques au détriment des carburants. Le para-xylène est un intermédiaire particulièrement recherché car il est nécessaire notamment pour la production de fibres polyesters pour les vêtements ou encore de résines.

Utilisation d’apprentissage machine pour paramétrer le champ de force ReaxFF

Les outils de simulation numérique sont très largement employés à IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPen) pour des applications dans divers domaines de l’énergie, du transport et de l’environnement. La modélisation multi-échelle est maintenant souvent devenue incontournable et un facteur clé pour la bonne réalisation des études. En chimie, la modélisation moléculaire contribue à la compréhension des phénomènes intervenant des échelles électronique à mésoscopique.

Effets de la porosité et de l’acidité de zéolithes à larges pores dans les transformations des sucres en molécules plateformes

Maitriser la transformation de la biomasse en molécules d’intérêt (bioplastiques etc.) est actuellement un défi majeur. Deux tiers de la biomasse disponible pour ces transformations est constituée de polymères de sucres, et sa dépolymérisation mène à la formation de glucose, fructose, xylose… Ces molécules hautement fonctionnalisés peuvent ensuite être transformés en espèces très intéressantes, comme par exemple le 5-HM (un précurseur de nouveaux biopolymères), l’acide lévulinique, l’acide lactique etc… 

Nouvelles voie d’activation des complexes de métaux de transition

La conception de nouveaux catalyseurs de plus en actifs et sélectifs est un défi crucial dans le contexte actuel de développement durable et d’économie d’atomes. En ce sens, la catalyse homogène basée sur le design de précurseurs métalliques parfaitement définis, est susceptible de répondre aux besoins de sélectivités recherchées. L’activation de ces précurseurs métalliques dans des conditions de réaction est une étape clé dans la genèse de catalyseurs « single site » hautement sélectifs.

Compréhension et modélisation du court-circuit interne dans des batteries Li-ion

Le stockage de l’énergie électrique est devenu un enjeu mondial et un défi majeur. En particulier, dans le cadre des besoins de stockage d’énergie liés au développement des véhicules électrifiés et des énergies renouvelables intermittentes, de nombreuses études s’intéressent aux batteries Li-ion. Garantir la sécurité des batteries Li-ion est clé pour leur déploiement dans des systèmes embarqués.

Modélisation moléculaire de la genèse de la phase active de catalyseurs à base de Pt et PtSn supportés

Les catalyseurs métalliques supportés représentent une grande importance en catalyse hétérogène. En particulier les catalyseurs constitués de nano-particules mono ou bimétalliques de Pt et de Sn déposées sur alumine sont utilisés industriellement pour la transformation d’hydrocarbures ou de molécules oxygénées. Ils sont habituellement préparés selon une séquence impliquant les étapes d’imprégnation du support par des complexes métalliques en phase aqueuse, de séchage-calcination, et de réduction pour former les particules métalliques. Une telle séquence a été optimisée empiriquement.