Catalysis, Biocatalysis and Separation

Understanding solubility and diffusion phenomena of compounds extracted from polymer matrixes in high temperature and pressure conditions.

Plastics recycling is a major current issue, making it possible to reduce the ecological and environmental impacts linked to their production and consumption. This involves developing specific recycling processes depending on the plastics. Present in great variety in all plastics, additives cause an issue in mechanical recycling (the most widely used recycling method): their presence and mixture results in poor quality recycled material. Some additives, which have become regulated, pollute the recycled material and prevent its further use.

Single Atom Catalysts for Sustainable Industrial Processes

Process efficiency in the field of energy and biomass conversion is a contemporary and urgent societal issue. Heterogeneous catalysis is a key enabling technology towards this goal. In that context, understanding catalysis at the molecular level for minimizing the use of rare and noble metal will contribute to make processes more environmentally friendly, i.e. by moving from supported nanoparticles to smaller clusters or isolated metal sites.

Optimizing 2G biorefineries production using synthetic consortia

Through various research programs, IFP Energies nouvelles is now strongly involved in the development of bioprocesses for biofuels and bio-based chemical intermediates. The overwhelming majority of bio-based fermentation products are obtained today through a microbial monoculture approach. However, this approach faces limits when it comes to complex biotransformations. Furthermore, at industrial scale, fermentations cannot be carried out under perfectly aseptic conditions. Bioprocesses are therefore regularly subject to chronic or acute contamination.

Liquid core capsules as catalysts: preparation from Pickering emulsions, understanding of diffusional phenomena

Catalytic processes have long been used regularly in academia and in various industries. One of the major objectives of catalysis today is to improve catalytic systems by combining the performance of homogeneous catalysis with the ease of implementation of heterogeneous catalysis.
Solid/liquid emulsions, known as Pickering emulsions, are an excellent means of preparing well-controlled batch liquid/solid/liquid media. These emulsions can then be transformed into catalytic micro-capsules with a well-controlled geometry.  

Study of SOx and NOx impact on amines degradation during post combustion CO2 capture

To limit greenhouse gas emissions, IFPEN is developing new amine-based solvents for CO2 capture in fumes (thermal power stations, steelworks, cement factories…). These mainly contain CO2, water, N2 and O2 but also different impurities such as sulfur oxides (SOx) and nitrogen oxides (NOx) at different concentrations depending on the emitter. In contact with these species, amines can undergo degradation, which leads to losses of amines and formation of volatile products which are potentially harmful to the environment.

Development of silicic materials with encapsulated atomic clusters and impact of confinement on catalytic performances

Butadiene is a crucial chemical, notably for the manufacturing of elastomers and tires but currently is only produced from fossil sources. In the transition to the sustainable economy, the ethanol-to-butadiene reaction has emerged as a promising solution to secure its production but above all to limit its environmental footprint. As a result, it has gathered significant scientific interest and private companies are investigating its application. The development of dedicated catalysts for this reaction is therefore a priority area of research.

New Pd complexes for adipic acid synthesis through the alkoxycarbonylation of butadiene

Adipic acid is considered as the most important dicarboxylic acid of global market. Its main application concerns the synthesis of polyamides-6,6, also called “Nylon”. Today, this chemical is obtained via a petrochemical process starting from cyclohexane oxidation. Therefore, there is a high interest in the development of new environmentally friendly synthetic pathways allowing us to prepare adipic acid starting from renewable sources, while keeping high values of productivity and avoiding the formation of pollutant side-products.

Catalyse, biocatalyse et séparation

Compréhension des phénomènes de solubilité et de diffusion de composés à extraire de matrices polymériques en pression et en température

Le recyclage des plastiques est un enjeu actuel majeur, permettant de réduire les impacts écologiques et environnementaux liés à leur production et à leur consommation. Il s’agit notamment de développer des procédés de recyclage spécifiques selon les matières plastiques. Le sujet se concentre sur les additifs : présents en grande variété dans tous les plastiques, les additifs posent actuellement un problème dans le recyclage mécanique (le plus utilisé à ce jour). Leur présence et leur mélange aboutissent fréquemment à une matière recyclée de mauvaise qualité.

Catalyse par Atomes Isolés pour des Procédés Eco-efficients dans le domaine de l’Energie

Le développement de procédés eco-efficients dans les domaines de l’énergie est un enjeu actuel sociétal majeur (production d’hydrogène, transformation de la biomasse). La catalyse hétérogène est un moyen pour y parvenir. La maitrise de la synthèse des catalyseurs et l’utilisation optimale des métaux utilisés dans ces matériaux, souvent rares, contribue à rendre les procédés plus respectueux de l’environnement. La taille des nanoparticules est donc diminuée à des petits clusters voir à l’échelle atomique.

Améliorer le fonctionnement des bioraffineries 2G : Développement d’une approche par consortia

A travers différents programmes de recherche, IFP Energies nouvelles s’implique aujourd’hui fortement dans la mise au point de procédés de production de biocarburants et d’intermédiaires chimiques biosourcés, à la fois par voie chimique et par voie biologique. L’écrasante majorité des produits biosourcés issus de fermentation sont obtenus aujourd’hui par une approche de monoculture microbienne. Cependant, cette approche se heurte à des limites lorsqu'il s'agit de biotransformations complexes.

Capsules à cœur liquide pour la mise en oeuvre de catalyseurs : préparation par émulsions de Pickering, compréhension des phénomènes diffusionnels

Les procédés catalytiques sont depuis longtemps employés de manière académique et dans différentes industries. L’un des objectifs majeurs de la catalyse actuellement consiste à améliorer les systèmes catalytiques en alliant les performances de la catalyse homogène et la facilité de mise en œuvre de la catalyse hétérogène.
Les émulsions solide/liquide de Pickering sont un excellent moyen de préparer des milieux discontinus liquide/solide/liquide bien maîtrisés. Ces émulsions peuvent ensuite être transformées en micro-capsules catalytiques, de géométrie bien contrôlée.  

Etude de l’impact des SOx et des NOx sur la dégradation des amines lors du captage du CO2 en post combustion

Selon l’agence internationale de l’énergie, le captage du CO2 dans les fumées industrielles (centrales thermiques, aciéries, cimenteries...) fait partie des solutions clefs à déployer pour limiter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et respecter l’accord de Paris. IFPEN développe de nouveaux solvants à base d’amines pour faciliter l’industrialisation de cette technologie. Les fumées industrielles sont constituées principalement de CO2, d’eau, de N2 et d’O2 mais aussi des oxydes de soufre (SOx) et des oxydes d’azote (NOx).

Développement de matériaux siliciques avec clusters atomiques encapsulés et impact du confinement sur les performances catalytiques

Le butadiène est un produit chimique crucial, notamment pour la fabrication d’élastomères et de pneus. Il n'est produit actuellement qu'à partir de sources fossiles. Dans le cadre de la transition écologique, la réaction éthanol vers butadiène est apparue comme une solution prometteuse non seulement pour sécuriser la production d’un butadiène d’origine renouvelable mais surtout pour en limiter l’empreinte environnementale. En conséquence, elle suscite un intérêt important de la part de nombreux acteurs mondiaux et des entreprises privées étudient son application. 

Nouveaux complexes de Pd pour la synthèse d’acide adipique par alkoxycarbonylation du butadiène

L’acide adipique est considéré comme l’acide dicarboxylique le plus important du marché et il a été classé parmi les 50 molécules les plus importantes aux États-Unis. Son application principale concerne la synthèse de polyamides-6,6, dites aussi « Nylon ». Actuellement, la majorité de l’acide adipique est produite par voie pétrochimique à partir du cyclohexane.