IVORY COAST Government

Gouvernement COTE D'IVOIRE

Côte d'Ivoire, in the form of a long republic of Côte d'Ivoire, is a member country of the African Union. Covering an area of 322,462 km, it is bordered to the north by Mali and Burkina Faso, to the west by Liberia and Guinea, to the east by Ghana and to the south by the Atlantic Ocean. The population is estimated at 26,594,750 in 2017. Côte d'Ivoire's political and administrative capital is Yamoussoukro, although almost all the institutions are located in Abidjan, its main economic centre. Although its official language is French, more than 60 other dialects are spoken on a daily basis. Its currency is the CFA franc. The country is part of ECOWAS.