Ties with Research

IFP School is an integral part of IFP Energies nouvelles (IFPEN), a public-sector research and training center. IFPEN’s scope is international and covers the fields of energy, transport and the environment.

Three strategic priorities

IFPEN is striving to honor its mandate from three complementary angles:

  • Sustainable mobility
    In order to lower greenhouse gas emissions associated with the transport sector and reduce its reliance on oil, IFPEN is exploring different complementary technologies, including the optimization of IC engine performance, vehicle electrification and the development of new powertrain/fuel pairings with a low environmental impact.
  • New energies
    Managing the energy transition and tackling climate change depend on the development of new resources – such as biomass, used to produce fuels and chemical intermediates, or ocean energies, the potential of which is set to expand – as well as the reduced environmental impact of existing resources.
  • Responsible oil and gas
    Discover new oil and gas reserves and optimize the production of existing ones, optimize water use in oil production, meet the growing demand for oil products while improving the performance and environmental impact of processes, produce “clean" hydrogen and keep costs under control: the oil industry faces a multitude of challenges, challenges that form the focus of IFPEN's research.

Scientific excellence

IFPEN’s expertise has widely been recognized by the scientific community and is tangible through the prizes and awards its researchers are granted with each year.

The recent prizes and awards for 2018 are:

  • Van Straelen to Xavier Mangenot
  • AGSE these to Alexandre Letteron 
  • ISC best poster to Marie Bernardin 
  • Bourse L’Oréal-Unesco Pour les Femmes et la Science to Céline Pagis
  • Darcy to Olga Vizika-Kavvadias
  • GECat best oral communication to Sophie Bernadet 
  • SCF young researcher to Céline Chizallet